Home Computer Bmcc Student Email

Bmcc Student Email

The difference between archiving and deleting in Gmail

by stacy

Gmail is one of the most important tools in most people’s daily lives, and for good reason. However, because most people receive so many emails, it is difficult to keep your inbox organized and free of random and unnecessary messages. When it comes to organizing and sorting emails into different folders, tabs, and tags, Gmail provides a plethora of options. However, in an age when Google’s search can scan millions of words per second, why should you spend so much time and effort keeping your Gmail organized? Fortunately, Gmail has an archiving feature that will assist you in cleaning up the interface without requiring you to spend several days sorting through each email and placing it in a separate folder.

What exactly is archiving?

The act of archiving an email in Gmail consists in moving it to a folder where it will continue to exist but will no longer be a source of confusion in your inbox, as described above. The best part about this is that it will still be available if and when it is needed in the future. Gmail does an excellent job of handling this task, as it allows users to archive their emails quickly and simply.

What exactly is deleting?

When you choose to delete an email, it is moved to a trash folder where it can be found later. This folder serves as a backup in case you accidentally delete an email that you did not intend to do so. Some people also use the trash folder as a place to dump emails that they do not consider to be important enough to be kept in their inbox, such as spam. Unfortunately, Gmail automatically deletes emails that are placed in the trash after 30 days, which is a problem. So, while using the trash folder to clear out your inbox may seem like a good idea at the time, keep in mind that you will almost certainly lose an email that you will need in the future if you use this method.

What are the benefits of archiving your emails?

Consider the following scenario: you’re having a conversation with someone and some personal information, such as an address or phone number, is exchanged. You can jot down or save any information you require at that point, and you decide to delete the conversation because you do not see the point in keeping it cluttering up your inbox any longer.

Now think about a period during which you would not have needed to go back and review that conversation or retrieve information from those emails, but for some reason, you now find yourself in that situation. If you delete the email thread, you won’t be able to go back and find what you’re looking for because it will be gone forever. Once an email has been archived, you will no longer be bothered by it sitting in your inbox, but you will have the peace of mind in knowing that if you ever need it, a quick search will bring it back to your attention.

Additionally, all of your archived emails can be found in the “All Mail” folder, which can be found in the navigation drawer of your computer. Emails are not organized once they have been archived, but if you need to quickly access a recently archived email, it will be near the top of the list if it was recently archived.

Gmail on Android: How to archive an email in Gmail
There are three quick and simple methods for archiving your email messages. These three methods are for archiving individual emails, and the third is for selecting a group of emails and archiving them for future reference.

Method #1 for archiving Gmail messages
Swiping an email away while looking at the list view of all of your emails in your inbox is the quickest, simplest, and most accident-prone method of archiving an email in Outlook. Because the majority of Android users are accustomed to accessing the navigation drawer by swiping in from the left edge of the screen, it is easy to accidentally send emails to the trash can. Gmail, on the other hand, allows you to undo your action immediately after archiving an email by pressing the undo button that appears for a few moments after archiving.

You can quickly turn off this feature in Gmail’s settings if you find yourself using it frequently by accident or if you simply do not require the feature. For this, open the navigation drawer, scroll down to the bottom where settings are located, enter general settings, and the second from the top option will allow you to choose whether or not to enable “swipe to archive.”

Method 2 for archiving Gmail messages
The second method of archiving an email is to do so while viewing a specific message thread in the inbox. On the taskbar, after you have finished reading the contents of an email, you will be presented with several different options. You will find a box with an arrow pointing downwards among the many icons that are waiting for you. This is one of the icons that you will see. This is the button for the archive. If you choose this option while viewing the email, you will be returned to your inbox and status will appear at the bottom of your screen for a few seconds, informing you that the email has been archived, which you can then dismiss. If you accidentally archived an email that you did not intend to do so, there is an undo button that you can use to restore the email to its original location once more.

Method 3 for archiving Gmail messages
After all, is said and done, if you are going through your inbox and decide it is time to clean it up, the last method will make it quick and simple to do so. To select an email while you’re looking through your inbox in list view, you can either click on the sender’s image (typically a colored box with the first letter of the sender’s name inside of it) or long-press on an email to select it.

Continue the process of selecting additional emails until you have selected everything you wish to archive. To archive, everything, click on the same box icon with the downward facing arrow that is located in the taskbar. A status bar will appear at the bottom of the screen, notifying you that you are archiving a large number of emails and providing the option to undo your action, just as it did after archiving a single email using the previous method.

Confirmation of the Gmail Archive

You can enable a feature in Gmail that requires you to complete an additional step before archiving or deleting any emails if you are ever concerned about accidentally archiving or deleting emails using any of the methods described above. A pop-up dialogue box will appear when you attempt to delete or archive an email as a result of this authorization, and you will be asked to confirm that you do want to proceed with your desired action.

This feature can be enabled by opening the navigation drawer and scrolling down to settings. Then select general settings, and at the bottom of the menu, there are two checkboxes to enable confirmation before deleting and archiving files, respectively.

Related Posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More